Guest Authors

Sewing is my Zen By Evelyn L.

We have our first guest author so I thought I would tell you a little about her first.

Evelyn is a recent return to the ASG. 8 years ago she was our 2nd Vice President, our Special Events person (and thanks to her we brought the Bernina Fashion Show to Sarasota, and she also ran 2 Neighborhood Groups, the Venice Group and a Wearable Arts Group. Sadly she had to return back to the workforce so the Guild had to be put on the back burner. She continued sewing though. Making purses, beautiful clothes, and chicken dolls, yes I said chicken dolls.  Last Oct she retired (again and hopefully for good!) and has returned to the ASG. In August she will be taking over the Sew Chic Neighborhood Group with yours truly (me… AKA Tina A.) as her co-leader. Welcome back Evelyn and I look forward to sharing more of what you do!

On to her post.

Sewing is my Zen

Zen- A school that asserts enlightenment can be attained through meditation, a total togetherness mind.

I’m recently retired from the working world. I received my first monthly issue of AARP magazine last week and began perusing the articles for helpful info. There was a 4 page article about yoga. It described different types of yoga and the many physical and psychological benefits it has to offer. I thought to myself, “maybe I should try it” but then I came to my senses and thought, “no, it would cut into my sewing time!”

Sewing IS my yoga! I love to spend time sewing and creating. I know it is frivolous, self indulgent, and important only to me. I especially love making clothes. I enjoy picking out fabrics that I love and designing one-of-a –kind items that are just a little bit different. I like being an individual and I am proud of being just a little bit different. We really are different and I think we should celebrate those quirky differences!

I spent over 30 years of my life working in health care. I was a Rehab Therapist and I helped many people during difficult times in their lives regain their physical functioning abilities. I tried to make the world a better place for one person at a time for over 30 years. Now is my time to care for myself. To spend my days creating things that bring me joy. Sewing stimulates my mind and my senses. I use my problem solving skills and it keeps my mind sharp. Sewing even helps to teach me life lessons, like patience, that perfection is unattainable and overrated, and if something didn’t quite work out, just keep working with it until it does and do not be afraid to make changes or mistakes! Sometimes those mistakes take us to exciting new places!

So you see, I do not need yoga. I am on my own path to enlightenment. Sewing is my Zen.

Evelyn L.

One thought on “Sewing is my Zen By Evelyn L.

  1. Nice story! Sewing helped me to heal and brought back many happy memories after my retirement due to health issues. Connecting with ASG Sewing Sisters brings me happiness every day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

