2017 Annual Conference · American Sewing Guild · sewing · shopping

My first 2 days at my first ASG Annual Conference

It has been one week since I have returned from the ASG Annual Conference in Orlando and I am still recuperating. This was my first conference and I had no idea what to expect. But now that it is over I really hope it will not be my last.

I went with Evelyn, who is my mother-in-law, partner in sewing crimes, and co-leader of our Sew Chic NG. We always have a great time when we are together and this time was no exception.

We drove up to Orlando on Wednesday and because it was only a few hours’ drive we had time to hit up The Sewing Studio Fabric Superstore in Maitland. (Yes, I know they were going to be at the conference but who can pass up any opportunity to go to a fabric store?) I refrained from my shopping money at the store but it was not easy.  This was all I picked up.

The hardware was a great find because I am always looking for purse parts and the buttons were for my daughter-in-law because she is crocheting the most adorable turtles and she uses them for the eyes. We checked in and at 4 pm we checked in at the registration desk to pick up our packet. Much to my surprise we were also given a bag of goodies! I love free goodies!!!

 

 

I decided not to take any of the extra classes that were offered for Thursday so I slept in and got ready to hit up Disney Springs. In all honesty, the only reason we wanted to go to Disney Springs was to hit up Free People, Anthropologie, and a store I never knew I needed in my life, Johnny Was. Not that I was going to buy anything I just wanted to see what I needed to sew next! I mean really, isn’t that one of the reasons we sew? Why spend $365 on a shirt that I can make myself and it will fit me perfectly (well I always hope it will fit perfectly). And who can pass up dinner at the Rainforest Cafe?

After all the walking in the hot tortuous sun, we had some time to rest up before the vendor floor opened. And let’s be honest I need the rest because I was about to do some marathon shopping.

When the vendor floor finally opened I was like a kid in a candy store, everywhere I looked there was something that I just HAD to have!  My goal was to do all my shopping that night because I was going to be too busy to go back to the vendor floor, right? I also told myself that just because I brought money did not mean I had to spend it all, right? But with 46 vendors there is no way I was going to be able to stay away. I did some damage at Primitive Originals Kumihimo (www.primitiveoriginals.com) and at The Sewing Studio (http://www.sewing.net/) booths.

Now that the shopping was over it was time to head back up to the room to get a good night’s sleep because Friday classes start bright and early with a 7 a.m. breakfast call.

There is so much to talk about I am going to break this up into a few posts. I will talk about classes I took, the people I was so fortunate to meet, the fashion show, and my thought and feelings about my first ASG Annual Conference. So be sure to check back here if you want to know all the details.

Happy Sewing!

Tina A.

3 thoughts on “My first 2 days at my first ASG Annual Conference

Leave a Reply

